Two Successful Calls to Action

tacoversmallToday, I did two things that I’d been putting off. However, good marketing – effective calls to action – put me over the edge in each case.

I’ve been intrigued by the new book just released by Chris Brogan and Julien Smith called “Trust Agents” – I figured, in the murky intentions of my mind, that I would buy it eventually. But then Chris put out this blog post, and it was the motivation I needed to finally take action. Why? Because it was Chris, and it was important to him, and I knew I wanted that book anyway (plus, it gave the the ‘Amazon Free Shipping’ excuse to make the long-overdue purchase of a David Meerman Scott book I’d been putting off). If you want to order a copy, here’s the place to go.

PastDueI also made a LONG-overdue visit to the dentist, where I endured gentle ribbing for my neglect of office-visit dental hygiene. Now I have very good teeth, and in fact there were no cavities (though a thorough cleaning was definitely in order) – but what motivated me to take action was the little personalization on the reminder postcard. I was successfully able to deflect all the other ones over the years, but his one both amused and shamed me, as it was intended to, so I finally made the appointment.

Which makes me wonder – what little tactics do you employ (or should you try!) to get people over the edge, and give them a reason to do what they know they ought/want to do? What are the most effective calls to action you’ve seen? Please share in the comments!


Subscribe to the StickyFigure blog

Connect with Steve Woodruff

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

3 Responses to Two Successful Calls to Action

  1. Pingback: Today’s Pharma News 081709 « Impactiviti blog

  2. Karen Swim says:

    Steve, as always thank you! Chris Brogan is incredible and it’s amazing how much he teaches by example. Your post made me pause and consider how I can put this advice into practice. I really like the dentist’s note and Chris’ approach – didn’t cost anything extra, no fancy paper, just a thoughtful personalization.

  3. Pingback: Dental Assistants – A Career with Opportunity | Economic Stimulus Plan


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

