Does Your Resume Have A Missing Narrative?

I’m reviewing a resume for a friend, and it’s got a lot of great stuff. Solid and multi-faceted experience, a diversity of roles, evidence of solid talent.

But it’s missing something – something crucial that most resumes and LinkedIn profiles seem to lack.

An overall narrative.

A conversation this week with a solo consultant also brought this issue to the surface. He’s been doing a lot of different projects since being out on his own, but there’s really no storyline to tie it together. Current work, past roles, future direction – they don’t paint a clear picture.

We humans are hard-wired for stories. We want things to fit into an overall progression, showing steps toward a destination and the evolution of the main character. Other people relate to us through our narratives.

Our careers – our lives – have a narrative. Our challenge is to tie it all together and trace the story.

For most of us, the story is not all fairy-tale and unicorns. That’s OK. No-one can relate to that kind of faux narrative anyway. But your many experiences as a professional always have an interesting story to tell (hint: the plot is always progress, through finding your core strengths and progressively succeeding).

Resumes with lists and bullet points are forgettable commodities. Your story, however, is unique. And no-one can tell it better than you!

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

2 Responses to Does Your Resume Have A Missing Narrative?

  1. Back again…second time this week, Steve! I put a lot of story into my LinkedIn profile and recently had someone counsel me to strip it all out. I decided to keep most of it because in addition to letting the reader know more about me, it’s written in my voice and, as I note on my website, if you don’t find my commentary amusing, then we probably won’t be working together. Truly, I use my story and my voice as a screening device. Result? Great clients who, even if they don’t have big bucks, are fun to work with.

  2. Pingback: A Creative Visual Resume « Connection Agent

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

