10 Can’t-Miss Predictions for 2011

I don’t usually do year-end prediction posts, but after reading so many enlightening missives from brilliant thinkers, I was hit by a sudden flash of inspiration – a massive and luminous outpouring of the blindingly obvious. So, here goes – my can’t miss social media marketing predictions for 2011.

  1. More people will search for stuff on-line in 2011. It’s been growing every year for quite a while now, and the big surprise is, that this behavior will continue to occur.
  2. Mobile is going to be big. Really big.
  3. E-commerce will explode onto the scene. As people discover that they can buy things on-line, they will do more of it. Books, music, toys, pet food – you name it. Disintermediation is the key word here. Big for 2011.
  4. Apple will introduce flashy new versions of its hardware and software products. And people will buy them. In fact, some people will wait in long lines to buy them – and others won’t.
  5. A lot of people will do a lot of stuff on Facebook, which will have more users in 2011 than it has now in 2010.
  6. Very important people will be profoundly embarrassed by revelations made about them via the Internet.
  7. Market valuations for software vendors will go up and down while fluctuating during the year.
  8. Companies will try to sell stuff using social media, and social media purists will be so upset about it, they’ll whine on Twitter and blogs.
  9. Everyone will hate SxSW’s method of choosing panels by popularity contest, but a million bloggers will beg for votes on Twitter anyway, while saying how much they despise doing so.
  10. People will discover that if you join smartphones with location apps with coupons you can cause a lot of people to make a lot of noise on-line about it, and generate stoopid company valuations.
  11. (Bonus) Content will rule. There may even be a book about it (hey – had to get a plug in there for CC and Ann!)

What about you? What are your profoundly insightful predictions for the exciting year ahead?

————-

Subscribe to the Connection Agent blog via Reader (RSS) | via e-mail

Twitter: @ConnectionAgent | @swoodruff

See prior spoofs :>}

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

13 Responses to 10 Can’t-Miss Predictions for 2011

  1. dougbrowncreative says:

    Good post. Love the bonus prediction! Here are 7 of mine. One of them involves Zombies, just so you know. http://bit.ly/93x7Ix

    Best wishes for 2011 Steve

  2. Smartass. :D

    What’s sad is that you’re trying to be funny, but yours actually make sense, whereas the post that inspired this meant to actually predict 2011 trends and failed miserably to make a single valid point.

    PS: You should change your twitter bio to “Award-winning B2B Marketing Expert.”

    ;D

    • Actually, you’ve hit on one of my sore spots. I really want to be able to throw “award-winning” before my name, because that would elevate my cool. Thinking about creating an On-line Award Mill just for this purpose – want to go in with me on it? In the meantime, please award me something so I can feel better about my personal brand…! ;>}

  3. Is this going to happen on the Internet?

    • No, this will be all about IRL brick-and-mortar meatspace analogue-y stuff. Except where it’s not.

      Also, look for a new definition of COO: Chief Obfuscation Officer.

  4. Mary Canady says:

    Great list! I predict that more and more people that none of us in the social media circles know will claim to be social media gurus. I know I’m stepping out on a limb, but I can do that because I’m an expert.

  5. Catherine says:

    I always enjoy a good tongue in cheek post. Well done and will come back for more!

  6. Came here via a tweet from Becky McCray and I’m glad I did. Had to chuckle at your predictions. I believe you are right on the money! When you do a follow up at the end of 2011, you will definitely be able to say, “See I was right. I truly am a future visionary.”

  7. Joseph Ruiz says:

    Brilliant, i just don’t know how you do it. But the real proof will be in the results we will just have to tune in next year to see how good you really are at this predicting game.

    Loved it. If I stumble upon (pun intended) an award i’ll nominate you then do my best to have you voted the most _____ Award winner ever.
    Best ;-) Joe

  8. Bill Senger says:

    I have participated in way too many MarCom meetings in which the first person to state the obvious was initially dismissed but ultimately recognized as a genius. You have bypassed the dismissed phase and gone directly to genius level. This will not, however, guarantee you a gig at an Apple Store.

    The results of my grass-roots poll have overwhelmingly acknowledged you as the award-winning prognosticator of 2011. You are now among the few and the proud to wear this accolade. My designers are currently searching the free clip-art archives to design your certificate. \\

    Thanks for the grins.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

