My Kids don’t “get” Twitter

You know all those stats that talk about how the younger generation doesn’t “get” Twitter, or use it much.

Yeah. True.

My teens don’t understand me (how’s that for a role reversal!) They think about the little messages, but what they don’t “get” is the people.

They simply can’t figure out that I really like you folks. That I enjoy interacting, bantering, discussing ideas, sharing pictures, passing notes in class, and lending a hand or a shoulder.

The tools continue to bring us closer. But it really has very little to do with Twitter. It’s life. And it’s you.

Maybe they’ll “get it” someday.

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

2 Responses to My Kids don’t “get” Twitter

  1. So true Steve! My oldest don’t get it either, I think it’s because they are scared of the “140-character-format”, they are used to so much freedom online, this may seem too constraining.

  2. Paul F says:

    I think one reason that they don’t get it is that they are mucho connected, and don’t understand grownup world.

    I don’t know if I am the rule or the exception, but I find it extremely difficult to make and keep connection with friends regularly due to a myriad of issues, not the least of which was raising kids for a couple of decades.

    The school world is not a real world, except for those inside of it. I envy the kids that level of connection and freedom, and maybe that is what we are trying to restore.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

