What’s in a Name?

Today, I received an unsolicited e-mail from a company looking to introduce themselves. Since this company at least was positioned somewhere near my sweet spot of interest, I went to the website to find out more.

And found a great way NOT to introduce yourself:

What’s in a name?
When we were thinking of what to call ourselves, we looked at both the approach to what we do and the context in which we do it. Not that earth shattering, but we think we came up with a great name. _______ covers both approach and context.

Lesson #1 – I don’t care what you think of your name, nor is the process by which you arrived at it of any significance. I’m there to learn WIIF Me. Taking these intro sentences and saying, “we…ourselves…we…we…we…we…we…” all with a note of self-congratulation, doesn’t inform me about what you do and why I should be engaged.

When you introduce your company, immediately tell me what the value is – what you can do for me. You have maybe 10 seconds to make your first impression, so give me one powerful sound bite that addresses a real business need. Save the historical explanations for a footnote. Because what’s in your name doesn’t address my pain.

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

3 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. Brett says:

    It’s way, way, way too common. Companies tend to care about things that consumers couldn’t care less about.

    I don’t care about name.

    I don’t care about your office building.

    I don’t care that you’ve been in business since 1905.

    I don’t care that you have flip-flop friday once a month.

    Like you said, I care about what you can do for me. Ironically, if I like the answer to that, then I suddenly start thinking all that other stuff you do is pretty cool.

  2. This reminds me of the old TV commercial that used to run — it starts with a woman dressed nicely at a party. She’s blathering on to some poor man who is politely listening. Then she pauses, takes a breath and says…”Well, enough about me.” “So, what do you think of my dress?” Guy goes cross-eyed or something like that.

    For some reason, that commercial always cracked me up. Seems this company is doing much the same thing. “So enough about me, let me tell you about our name…”

  3. John Fisher says:

    I really enjoyed Juliann’s comment about the old TV Commercial. It definitely applies, and it will be interesting to see how long this group lasts.

    This also reminds me of the early days of Internet Presence. The websites were often designed around the company structure “Here’s what department X” does.

    Thanks for the laugh on a rainy Wednesday…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

