Why I Follow…Pamela Martin

It’s becoming a tradition on Fridays in Twitterland to tag a bunch of your favorite people for “FollowFriday” – not a bad idea at all, but it has become somewhat overwhelming. Hard to separate signal from noise, and often I can’t possibly discern WHY someone is being followed.

Plus there’s the creeping sense of guilt involved, you know what I mean? If I don’t participate, I’m being ungrateful. And if I do, what about everyone I’m leaving out (it’s only 140 characters, after all!)

So, I thought I’d start a variation on the theme. Just highlight one person on a Friday, and tell you why I follow.

First up: @pamelamartin

Why do I not only follow Pamela, but thoroughly enjoy her tweets? Because she’s very funny, very human, and willing to banter on-line. And, she and husband Frank are one of those amusing and engaging spousal pairs on Twitter.

Then, there’s also SMAST. But you’ll have to follow her to find out what that is. Before the weekend begins.

So, if you want a fun person from Roanoke to follow (note: if you’re ever in Roanoke VA, you MUST have Mill Mountain coffee – my absolute favorite java of all time), it’s Pamela Martin. And if you want a two-fer, @frankmartin is pretty cool too!

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

4 Responses to Why I Follow…Pamela Martin

  1. Karen Swim says:

    Steve, what a great idea! I spotlighted one tweeter this morning too on my blog. It’s funny I had similar thoughts on #followfriday, glad I’m not alone. The Martins are wonderful people, great recommendation!

  2. Well said sir! Someone on twitter pointed out that you and I have feel the same way on this. Followfriday reminds me of speed dating or mass networking. Both a complete waste of time. I’ll be keeping an eye on this to see your thoughts in the future.

    http://patrickallmond.com/2009/03/14/my-take-on-the-whole-followfriday-meme/

  3. Connie Reece says:

    I’ve never followed anyone because of a Follow Friday recommendation on Twitter unless the person told me *why* I should follow. When I participate, I usually group people by industry or geography: i.e. good people in Austin to follow; leading voices in nonprofits, etc.

    But I love the way you’ve taken this beyond 140 characters and introduced us to Pamela. Having met Pam and Frank, I can assure readers that they are both work following — for professional and personal reasons.

    Great recommendation — thanks!

  4. Pingback: My opinion on #followfriday | Wright Creativity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

