Seriously Impressed: HootSuite

I will be the first to admit that when it comes to software/services and user design, I’m very hard to please. Chalk it up to years of wrestling with software from all the way back in the early DOS days to the bleeding-edge present – AND from working with technology and software development firms.

hootsuiteSo when I say I’m seriously impressed with HootSuite (formerly known as Brightkit, which was an awful name) that’s no light recommendation.

I’ve struggled with Twitter productivity tools over the past year, trying to streamline, simplify, and maximize my use of Twitter as a resource-sharing platform and communication engine. TweetDeck, for me, solved the problem of managing the Twitterstream through a flexible (desktop) client interface – it’s a great tool, getting better by the month, and I loved it right after Iain Dodsworth put it out for launch.

But I also make use of timed tweets (to share resources across different time sectors – I do most of my information gathering and publishing early in the morning). And, I like the automation of using one-click toolbar tools to rapidly create a tweet on the fly. Plus, I enjoy auto-shrinking or URLs into trackable mini-links.

I have used TweetLater extensively for timed tweets but found its interface cluttered and difficult. BigTweet is a great toolbar app that lets you actually create 240-character tweets (if desired) and splits them into two tweets – nice. TwitPwr, bit.ly, all the other URL shrinkers and trackers – been there, done that (I do like how bit.ly allows you to create a custom-spelled URL instead of nonsense characters if desired).

Good-bye to all of those, for the most part. HootSuite wraps it all together, and even allows you to swap between different Twitter personas if you have more than one. When you’re on a blog post or article that you want to tweet, it even auto-suggests wording from the title, it auto-assigns a shrunken URL (owl.ly), AND – very neat – it gives you a countdown of available words minus the characters of the shrunken URL as you type. Wonderful time-saver.

If you’re a power tweeter, your life can get a whole lot easier with a TweetDeck/HootSuite double play. Mine just did!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

7 Responses to Seriously Impressed: HootSuite

  1. Pingback: Free Service To Help You Use Twitter | Making Money Online

  2. Hi Steve,

    Great article. I was wondering what reasons you chose to use both (TweetDeck and Hootsuite) together?

    Personally, I like the idea of a desktop app, like TweetDeck, but the ease of use and functionality in Hootsuite is great! I wish there was a “light weight” desktop app that did everything Hootsuite does.

    Thanks!

    Marco Santarelli

  3. Pingback: Tweetdeck and Hootsuite - Better Together | Own Page One: Search Engine Visibility Blog - Online Marketing Strategy and Tips

  4. Pingback: Optimisez vos potentiels grâce à l’autosuggestion « 7 Trucs: La ressource Internet…

  5. Jillian says:

    I agree! Hootsuite is such an easy way to organize and manage my multiple Twitter accounts. Do you know of any (good) Hootsuite desktop clients (if there are any?)

  6. Pingback: TweetDeck versus HootSuite: Which is Better? « Social Media Paige

  7. carlos says:

    I’ve abandoned Tweetdeck entirely for HootSuite. There are even nice little touches in the Android app that I’ll switch to the phone to use even when I’ve got HootSuite up on my laptop. I don’t know of a thing that Tweetdeck can do that HootSuite can’t match or top.

    Now I recommend Tweetdeck for single account tweeters who are heavier on the social than on the networking. Anyone serious about their tweets and being able to gauge their effectiveness or managing several accounts (or several people managing one account) gets my hearty HootSuite recommendation now.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

