Right on, Target

target-logo1I’m a guy, so understand that I can be dumb at times. Like, going into Target today to buy a couple of things. How ridiculous is that concept? Everyone knows that if you go to Target, you automatically have to count on buying at least 2, if not 3 times what you intended.

Anyway, intending to just pick up my couple of pre-planned items, I did not grab one of those hand-held shopping baskets (let alone a cart – guys don’t do carts for little runs like this!). Needless to day, before I ever got to the items I needed, I already had an arm full of two bulky things I didn’t know I needed, and my cash-and-carry bandwidth was about to be exceeded.

Here is where Target is very smart.

There, far away from the front or the registers, was one of those containers holding the shopping baskets! In fact, sprinkled throughout the store, just for dunces like me, were these handy outposts. A small touch. But very smart!

Why? Because now I could spend even more – and I did (yes, you can picture my wife rolling her eyes when I came in the door). More carry, more cash for Target – and I was happy too. Yet how many stores make you walk all the way back to get a basket or cart, putting up a barrier to extracting maximum dollars from you? Because I don’t believe I would have spent as much had that basket not been right where I needed it. Right on, Target. You know your shoppers.

Subscribe to the StickyFigure blog

Follow Steve Woodruff on Twitter

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

6 Responses to Right on, Target

  1. Pingback: Big Marketing For You » Blog Archive » Right on, Target « StickyFigure

  2. Ike Pigott says:

    The big box retailers rarely get credit for human engineering: http://occamsrazr.com/2008/04/21/ugly-and-rough/

  3. Pingback: Five in the Morning 120808 « StickyFigure

  4. Lee Potts says:

    Target is the only “Big Box” retailer that I find myself shopping at on a regular basis and I suspect because they obviously think long and hard about this sort of thing.

    They counter-intuitively sacrificed a major (and finite) asset (space on the sales floor) to improve the customer’s ability to give them more money. Took some guts on someone’s part to suggest that. Well, maybe not at Target, but you can bet the idea wouldn’t get much traction at most other retailers.

  5. Great post and story! I personally love Target, and not necessarily for what others love about it. I’m a graphic designer, and like Apple, Target “gets it” when it comes to the customer experience and design.

    I look forward to the Holiday season, because they do it so well – hiring a award winning illustrator to come up with their Holiday branding is just genius. This attention to detail, packaging, product placements throughout the store and the “feel good” ambiance hits the perfect note.

    I never expect to come out of the store without 1 or 2 items I didn’t have on my list going in.

  6. Brett Duncan says:

    I’m a big Target fan; they get a lot of things right. Everything you could hate about Wal-Mart pretty much doesn’t exist at Target. I actually feel good about going there. Wal-Mart just stresses me out.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

