Discard this ACE

I saw a full-page ad in the Wall Street Journal this week. The prominent logo provoked a feeling that was so contradictory to the company purpose and message that I was flabbergasted.

logo_aceOne glance at the logo make me immediately think of two things:

1. Disorder; and

2. Toys R Us

Unfortunately, the ad is for a global insurance company. And in these days of financial instability, I don’t think that a financial services/insurance company should give the impression that it is not serious. Yet that is what ACE Insurance does with this awful logo.

Surely these folks make enough money to project an image that connotes stability, seriousness, heft. This thing looks like it was whipped up in Powerpoint in 10 minutes by a Muppets designer. Please.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

3 Responses to Discard this ACE

  1. Pingback: Five in the Morning 111408 « StickyFigure

  2. “This thing looks like it was whipped up in Powerpoint in 10 minutes by a Muppets designer. Please.”

    Ha ha ha. I got my morning chuckle.

    I agree that this logo does subliminally give the impression of disorder.

    Plus, it’s hard to read … It would have me wondering ‘is it ACE or CAE or ABE?’ The C against the A almost looks like a B. It’s like a captcha — a little too much work to figure out.

  3. Brett Duncan says:

    Agree on the disorder. I think the problem goes even further back into the company name. I mean, how many different companies use “Ace” as their company name? Let the hardware store franchise have it, and get something better. What are you expecting, me to say “This insurance is just aces . . . “?!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

