Save the Date: The Blogger “Mystic Meetup” Oct 17-18

NOTE: This event is postponed. A more complete update will be posted shortly.

Calling all Sociable Bloggers! The Blogger Mystic Meetup is ON!

All Northeast and New England bloggers (MA/CT/NY/NJ/Eastern PA) AND any others who want to join us for a wonderful fall foliage weekend in Mystic, CT should make plans now to get social in mid-October!

Bloggers love to “socialize” on-line. This is your chance to get to know a bunch of your fellow bloggers better (face-to-face), while enjoying one of New England’s finest settings. And, to enjoy a newly-refurbished hotel located steps away from some of Mystic’s prime attractions!

Location: Mystic Hilton, Mystic, CT (easy access by car from all points; Mystic is on the Amtrak train line also).

Dates: October 17, 18

Schedule:

- Friday night: informal hangout/socializing time together at hotel, with hors d’oeurves and a cash bar. 7:00 ’til whenever.
- Saturday morning: breakfast buffet, followed by morning brainstorming session, probably taking off from the theme of Breaking out of the Bubble (with due credit to our very own Alan “Tangerine Toad” Wolk). This will be an informal, high-energy facilitated discussion, undoubtedly live-Twittered like all such blogger events are nowadays!
- Saturday lunch
- Saturday afternoon – free time to explore the many attractions right at our doorstep: Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, Old Mystick Village, historic Stonington, area beaches – there are even a few wineries! Plus, New England fall foliage at its peak!

So, it’s a combo social meetup and creativity session. I’m thinking we’d want to keep the event limited to no more than 40-50 people (plus significant others if applicable). We’d also spend some of Saturday morning introducing ourselves and our work to each other in a fun and creative way.

Costs:

For those staying overnight at the Hilton, we’ve arranged a very nice group rate of $129/night (plus tax). That’s for single or double occupancy. But you need to reserve by Sept. 19th to lock in that rate.  Some of you locals may prefer to commute, and that’s fine. We still like you.

The cost of the total Fri-Sat event (meeting room, food, drink, etc.) is $115/person, which is a major-league bargain in my humble opinion. Those who can only attend on Saturday may do so at a rate of $65. The rate for those attending only for the Friday evening social (which might include a spouse or significant other) is $50. I should note that all registration fees go toward meeting expenses only. This is not a money-making event for anyone (actually it’s a bit of a financial risk for me).

Perhaps some non-Northeast bloggers would want to join in and combine it with a New England foliage tour…the regional bloggers of New England and NY/NJ/PA will extend red-carpet hospitality to any of our fellow social media friends who’d like to use this Meetup as an excuse to come explore the area!

We look forward to seeing you in picturesque Mystic! And please forward this to other bloggers you think might be interested so that they can be included…

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

8 Responses to Save the Date: The Blogger “Mystic Meetup” Oct 17-18

  1. @Stephen says:

    Wow, I used to live there, until about 3 years ago. My wife’s family is from Mystic. Let me check on the schedule and perhaps we’ll take a road trip!

  2. Gavin Heaton says:

    Sounds great Steve. Hmmm … wonder if I can make it. There was talk about a work meeting in Boston sometime in October — will come if I can ;)

  3. Hey Steve,

    This looks awesome!

    So far, I plan on making it Saturday (I think).

    I’ll certainly promote it where and when I can to spread the good blogger cheer. :-)

    Thanks for taking the initiative and spearheading this meetup!

  4. Ann Handley says:

    I’ll miss you guys! : (

  5. Lewis Green says:

    Steve,

    Great job! I have concert tickets for the 18th (Austrailian Pink Floyd, so not sure about my availability. Friday evening looks like the best bet. But I will promote this, no matter what I decide.

  6. Wish I could come – I have a conflicting event – but I’ll be watching for the reports!

  7. Pingback: Will you be a Mystic Blogger? « StickyFigure

  8. @Stephen says:

    I ust came by to let you know that my schedule has cleared, and now I see that it is postponed. Please let me know when,
    Thanks
    @S

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

