Apple’s MobileMe = MobileMeh – for now

I really wanted it to work.

I signed on to Apple’s MobileMe because it purportedly would solve one of my nagging little digital needs – one place from which to sync my laptop and my iPhone, especially the Calendar and my Contacts.

So, I went on-line to pay my $99.00 and sign up. That was when Strike 1 occurred.

They have to ship the thing? You mean, you can’t just sign up on-line for an on-line service and activate? Oh well, says I, it must be a really cool program, since it has to be loaded up (assumes I) from a CD or DVD-ROM.

And, next day, the package arrives via FedEx. Cool! But wait – there’s no disc! The box contains packaging, instructions, and an activation code. I needed all that wasteful material just to get an activation code for an on-line service?? Strike one.

Then there are the well-documented problems with the service (which even Steven Jobs admitted to), which was rushed out too quickly. Now it does actually seem to sync my Contacts fine, but the Calendar is slightly flaky, and you cannot set an “alarm” within MobileMe – only on the iPhone itself. I wanted that pop-up and auditory alarm, to help me remember tasks and appointments! But the worst thing was more subtle – some sort of script-running problem on the MobileMe site that slows down my entire browser experience and leaves with no option but NOT to remain on the site all day (defeating the purpose). Strike two.

Will Apple fix it? Most likely. The concept is too right to give up on, and so I’ll wait and hope that things improve. I really want it to work, and I’d rather not issue Strike three on MobileMe.

Zemanta Pixie
About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

8 Responses to Apple’s MobileMe = MobileMeh – for now

  1. Doug Petrosky says:

    You can signup for a free account and just add your billing data anytime after it is setup so next time look at the ball and maybe that will be a hit instead of a strike.

    Also, MobileMe is intended to sync your local resources across multiple machines and has a web interface mostly for when you are not on one of your machines. So maybe you need to re-think how the service should work.

    So get back in the box and try the service again, this time with your eyes open!

  2. @doug – but it should still work!

  3. jorgipogi says:

    Apple is having trouble with its increase popularity. They used to make fun of windows but we will see how they handle popularity and the need for more support. I still don’t understand why people would like to sync their contacts over the air. You just have to connect your iPhone to your computer and that’s it.

  4. jamesbedell says:

    My big issues is that I subscribe to co-workers google calendar via the ICal rss feed. this is not compatible with MobileMe. My hope was that mobile me could check the RSS feeds and update my phone over the air. Not so.

  5. Pierre says:

    I have to agree with Steve
    1) There is no need for more waste to be sent through courier or the mail system
    2) It should work. That is what they said it will do, and that is what it should have done. Launching too early is no excuse
    3) For the longest time Apple was mocking Microsoft, and it should have been watching and aware.

    The last thing I am having a hard time understanding is how tolerant Apple fans are of Apple’s mistakes. They should be more critical of it just like Windows fans are of Microsoft. Apple gets away with so much with little criticism, why??

    If Apple does not fix this soon, Windows Live Mesh, which I understand is looking at adding PIM sync will kill MobileMe especially if the PIM sync works as good as the file sync they are already testing very successfully.

    Last yes I am a Windows user, but I am also a Mac user and I am critical of both when things don’t work right. that what consumers should always do.

  6. I’m a true MacAddict, but when it came to mobile synchronization, I found that my Blackberry and GoogleSync worked perfectly.

    I have my corporate email, my personal email(s) and my calendar sync’d with the whole shebang… and it only cost me the frustration of talking to my IT department for 10 minutes.

    The iPhone was my first choice, but after all of the negativity, not to mention the cost, I decided to go Backberry. I couldn’t be happier…

    Andrew

  7. Tom says:

    The link to: well-documented problems is incorrect. I ends with “htm” but should be “html”… Although there really isn’t any information on that page to speak of… I was looking for a laundry list of the “well-documented problems” but found none…. What’s up with that???

  8. C Day says:

    @tom – I concur that there is no useful information on that page, but I would like to point out that it doesn’t matter if a HTML page ends in .htm or .html. For some unknown reason, unbeknown to us low-lings, Tim Berners-Lee has ordained it should be like that. Go figure.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

