The Little Spoilers that Kill a Sale

Last week, I went looking for a new vehicle for our family. We’d narrowed it down to a good-sized “crossover” SUV from one manufacturer, or a minivan from another.

As always, things look great on paper, but you have to test drive these things to see if they feel right.

I got into the crossover for the test drive, and before we went anywhere, I knew it wasn’t going to be the choice. Game over. Eliminated.

Had a similar experience some years back, when I bought a Mazda 626. One of the models I was considering was a Honda Accord – great name, excellent cars, well worth considering. But before turning the key, it was crossed off the list.

Why?

Seat belts. Specifically, the anchor points for the front seat belts could not be adjusted high enough, and therefore the seat belt tugged down on my shoulder. Game over.

I’m of average height – a little under 6 feet tall. A lot of people are my size and bigger. And do you mean to tell me that car manufacturers cannot put people my height into a driver’s seat during the design phase and check on a little thing like this??

That little spoiler has killed two car sales for me so far, and who knows how many others for drivers who have felt the same.

You can have the greatest reputation for reliability, cool design, top-notch features, but if you don’t make me feel comfortable, I walk.

User design matters. Not only in cars, but in software and everywhere else.

What are some of the spoilers you’ve experienced?

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

2 Responses to The Little Spoilers that Kill a Sale

  1. Cam Beck says:

    When buying my most recent auto, I narrowed down the selection to 2 from the same manufacturer. Similar functions, similar prices. I was *this* close to buying one (with AWD) when one of the interior pieces just fell off. The interior was cheaply constructed.

    Having just gotten rid of a car that was like that, I made up my mind. I wasn’t going through that again.

    It was for the best. The gas mileage on the one I bought is a few MPG better. Plus I don’t have to worry about the kids tearing the thing apart.

  2. Pingback: After Hours 5_16 « Impactiviti blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

