Memories: Mother’s Day

It’s going to be Mother’s Day this weekend here in the U.S. The easy remembrance is flowers, a dinner, a card, etc.

But why stop there? Shared memories are even more important.

What is your most cherished memory of your mother? What impresses you the most (particularly as you’ve gotten older)?

For me – and this won’t sound too flowery or sentimental – it’s her steadiness. I knew only stability growing up. Mom was consistent, steady, and sensible. We knew the boundaries, we knew our place, we knew we were safe. I’m quite sure, with 4 active boys, she and Dad did their share of pulling-their-hair-out behind closed doors, but we were spared displays of emotional fireworks. As I have grown older, I now see how incredibly important this was – and is, for my children, as my wife also has a steady hand on the tiller.

What about you? Share your memories, in the Comments or on Twitter or on your own blog. Let’s create a virtual memory book together in memory of great Moms!

(from my occasionally-updated personal blog, a tribute to my Mom from last year).

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

One Response to Memories: Mother’s Day

  1. Karen Swim says:

    Steve, what a great idea! As we grow older we gain a new perspective on what our parents endured. My mom is responsible for filling me with the confidence to pursue my dreams in life, and teaching me to care about the people I encounter along the way. Cheers to great Moms!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

