Cheerful Brand Ambassadors

While traveling on business, a stream of unknown and soon-forgotten people flows past. In airports, on the plane, in buses or trains, on the street – nameless individuals pass at arm’s length, or engage in perfunctory  social or commercial exchanges.

Once again experiencing a flight delay this week, I shuffled forward in my normal travel shell, not expecting any rays of sunshine from the strangers around me.

Then, at an airport Starbucks kiosk, I was shaken out of my funk by an engaging smile and a warm voice. This particular barista was serving everyone that morning with 100-watt cheer that was infectious. The coffee was welcome, but I found myself more interested in watching this human sparkplug make a not-so-great morning just a little bit brighter.

Finally airborne after 2 unplanned hours of delay, a smiling flight attendant with a ready wit and just a touch of sass works her magic. Sure, I’ve seen plenty of competent flight attendants. But this one didn’t just dispense peanuts. She spread cheer.

There are others, too. The Hertz bus drivers who put some heart into their announcements on the shuttle. The employees at the hotel and restaurants who have begun to recognize me after multiple visits, and greet me warmly. And it’s made me think…I really need to be more expressively cheerful.

After all, what good is your brand if its ambassadors are not spreading happiness?

Image: the cheerful Director Tom, taken by Shashi Bellamkonda

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

2 Responses to Cheerful Brand Ambassadors

  1. My, oh, my!

    Not sure what to say, Steve, but…

    Thanks for sharing the smile :-)

    Cheers, indeed, to those “100 watt smiles” that life people up in life. We all need a lift every now and then, right? Right.

    Carry on then…

  2. Steve,

    A close scrutinization of His Beretness will show that, following the filming of a Dolly Parton/Michelle Pfeiffer documentary, Director Tom dipped into the backstage Botox bin for a sample and can now, in fact, onlysmile.

    This has been exacerbated by cycling into the wind for a number of days.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

