Contact Manglement

OK, I’m finally doing it this week.

Recently, I bought an iPhone in order to try to consolidate cell phone, calendar, contacts, music, and whatever into one device. It’s a very cool machine…but I’ve been putting off one very painful task.

I have contacts scattered through at least 3 main applications – my Yahoo mail program, a Palm pilot (and its contact program), and LinkedIn. Add a couple of years and a lot of changes/duplications/incomplete data, and you can imagine what I’ve got. It’s not contact management. It’s contact manglement!

So…I’ve exported all of them, consolidated all the files into one common Excel format, and now am going through the mind-numbing task of sorting through nearly 3,000 entries (my pharma biz contacts; blogging/marketing/networking contacts; personal contacts). As of this writing, I’m just about to start the “E”s.

Then, when finished, I have to wipe out my Yahoo contact file, and import this new master in, hoping to heck that it all works. Finally, it will sync up with the iPhone, and voila! Nirvana achieved!

Maybe. Fingers crossed….

(Update: it worked!)

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

4 Responses to Contact Manglement

  1. Saul Colt says:

    Steve,

    I am in the very same boat. I picked up an iPhone last weekend and am still using my Treo because I am still working on my contact transfer. I have around 3000 contacts (same as you) and have to find the time to finish this once and for all.

    saul

  2. Steve (and Saul),

    Got the iPhone in January, took a deep breath, and did what you are doing. There really is no other way with multiple accounts, multiple devices, and numerous contacts.

    The upside: It offers the appearance of doing work and, if you can conjure up a sense of genuine self-deception, makes you feel as if you are achieving something meaningful.

    I tried.

  3. CK says:

    Tis the journey my friend. Be zen about it. Otherwise it’s so tedious and awful you’ll need anti-depressants. Or booze. Or both.

    Btw, love the “contact manglement” verbiage.

  4. Joe Kutchera says:

    Hi Steve,
    Indeed, that is a major task. Should be interesting to see how this all works out if and when the social networks create a common platform for sharing information and contacts. In the meantime, we need to keep on importing/exporting and editing lists of contacts. Best of luck with the process…and see you at the next blogger event.
    Best,
    Joe

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

