Alone again. Notreally.

(with apologies to Gilbert O’Sullivan)

Being a solo entrepreneur/consultant can be – at times – a lonely venture. So can being out on the road working on client projects. But of late, I don’t feel quite so isolated.

Why? In a word – Twitter.

After all of the intense interactions of last weekend’s Blogger Social, bonds with my fellow bloggers are all the stronger. But now, as I’m away from home once again, I am keeping up with my many friends via Twitter. I may be flying solo, but I’m keeping up with what’s going on with Director Tom, telling CK how much I appreciate her efforts, ragging on Matt Dickman for his 2-fisted twittering, finding out who’s being Jaffed, and getting condiment updates from Catchup Lady.

When there are random moments of non-work, I can “tune in” for a quick update. On those rare occasions when a worthy-to-share thought flits through my brain, I can toss it out over the backyard fence. While watching SmashLab I can share a quick note with the Marketing Diva, and in between serious keyboard endeavors I can take a quick glance at the gossip, even if that means seeing Armano‘s hat again. Or, as just occurred not 6 seconds ago, I can hear from Nathan Snell.

Dang! Even when I’m alone again, I’m not. This is all right!

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

2 Responses to Alone again. Notreally.

  1. CK says:

    Twitter is a wonderful ‘companion’ and way to tune-in. I was so glad to finally find it (I had time right after I broke it off with that “cheatin’ ex-boyfriend” known as Facebook). And it’s a completely different tool than blogging, so it’s not at all redundant.

    I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed Social with you…nor have I stopped thanking you for all the wonderful support and work you did for Social (GOLD stars all around!). I’m so glad we became closer through the experience…and that our world has become smaller as our community grows larger. And next year? I can’t wait to see what all you’ll imagine ;-).

  2. Steve-

    I was a total -BLAST- hanging with you in NY along with so many other funny and brilliant folks!

    I’ve been so moved by the whole experience, it’s still taking me time to figure out how I’ll write what I feel…dang, words are just too limiting.

    But try, I must.

    Thanks for a remarkable friendship!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

