What’s Wrong with these Names?

Shopping for a projector? Take a look at these distinctive model names, straight out of the Alfred E. Neuman “What, me Worry?” guide to branding:

  • Sony VPL-FX40
  • Panasonic PT-DW10000U
  • NEC NP60
  • Sharp XR-30X
  • Toshiba TDP-FF1AU
  • Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 1080

Full article on the Small Business Branding blog here…

(Alfred E. Neuman copyright Mad Magazine)

2 Responses to What’s Wrong with these Names?

  1. Ray says:

    Reminds me of Nokia’s phone models, the 6610’s and the 3210’s and all the other possible four-digit combinations you can think of. I think the first two digits are supposed to represent the model family, and the last two digits are supposed to represent the model species. Personally, I can’t even associate the numbers with a mental image of the phone. I own a Nokia, and sometimes I even forget what it’s called.

  2. You just solved a long-time wonderment, Steve.

    Our clients all have conference rooms with projectors. But I thought it would be a good idea to have one “just in case.” Every time I do comparison shopping, my eyes start to glaze over. Then a week later I can’t remember the model or make that I thought I liked.

    Now I know why.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

