BrandDad and BrandMom

All brands ultimately want to create an enduring relationship with you. They seek to create a lot of positive experiences so that you’ll always be attached, and return to the brand. The ultimate brand attachment can easily be called a form of love.

Which leads me to think about BrandDad and BrandMom.

What is the most enduring branding exercise of all, if it is not parenting? By loving our little ones unconditionally, providing for their needs, and hopefully creating an image of yourself in the mind and heart of your child that is positive and warm and even (at least when they’re young!) heroic, we seek to make BrandMom and BrandDad a potent force in our children’s life; enough, hopefully, to counteract the bad stuff. And there’s plenty of bad stuff out there.

I’m a parent (of 5 boys) and it’s a joy, a privilege, and a constant source of angst. At times, I look at my tribe and feel enormous pride as they emerge into young manhood, then I look into the mirror of my own inadequacies and failures and tremble that I just might blow this whole Dad thing big time. What will they think of me when they’re off on their own? Will BrandDad be just an overly-critical Cop, or will he be a for-real guy that sought to come alongside and love despite his many shortcomings? What will stand out in their memories – will they want to return, or flee?

I doubt that I’m alone in feeling this way.

parents2.jpgSo, how did BrandDad and BrandMom leave their mark with you? What are one or two positive parental brand memories that are seared into your heart, and how did they get there? What good things are you doing (if you’re a parent) to drip BrandYou into the veins of your kids?

It’s not an idle question – I really want to have a conversation about this! And with all the poisons seeking to enter into the minds and hearts of our kids, it’s more important than ever that we seek to bring good influences to our most important customers…

(Image credit)

2 Responses to BrandDad and BrandMom

  1. Steve,

    Great topic for conversation. Like you, I spend a lot of time being a dad, thinking about how to be a better dad and enjoying the journey. (My license plate is DAD).

    My parents definitely left their mark. My mom taught me how to be a good friend and that laughter was a universal bond.

    My dad taught me the importance of loving the work you choose and being intentional about how well you do it.

    They of course, taught me many more lessons than that. I am blessed with remarkable parents and my goal as a dad was to just live up to their example.

    A couple of my parenting mantras are:

    ~ Few rules, but the ones we have are there for a reason so they don’t get ignored without consequence.

    ~ There is no taboo conversation or topic. I will have a frank and open conversation about anything and everything. And boy, have I!

    How about you…how would you answer those questions?

    Drew

  2. Lewis Green says:

    Steve,

    Five boys: Sounds like the makings of a basketball team. And that’s not a bad analogy for raising children.

    My Dad was a locally famous athlete, and everything he said and did was about fairness and playing the game right. My mother was known as Mrs. Baseball, and she was about tough love and hard work.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

