Behind the Curtain

Drew McLellan recently posted a photo that captures something less “formal” about himself, based on the meme started by David Airey, encouraging bloggers to let others see more of the “face behind the blog.”

As one who grew up in New England, my default setting is to generally have a curtain between my professional and personal lives. But I feel a little Toto pulling at the curtain, so what the hey – it is, after all, the Share Economy

Right now, outside of work, a whole bunch of my time and effort goes into being a husband and father, as well as maintaining/improving our home. The other 16.5 minutes of “me” time per week goes to…well, let’s hope I can resurrect those hobbies some day in the future!

Here are my two “middle” sons (#3 & 4 out of 5) on a recent father/son retreat:

ryan_ben_dad.jpg

Most mornings, my Fiver hops up into my lap at precisely 7 am for a “Big Kitty” story with Dad, who has generally been up already for 1-2 hours but looks pretty bedraggled still:

seth_dad.jpg

cimg0278.jpg

The boys get their looks from the Lovely and Talented Queen, whose mother will be glad to tell you where she got HER looks from!

sandyw.jpg

We’ve spent the last 7 years slowly and steadily improving our little Eden in North Jersey. We’re amateurs, but we enjoy creating an English garden feel, and I have particularly enjoyed building stone walls.back-of-house.jpg

back-yard.jpg

Someday, I hope to find more time to take scenic pictures. Two of these shots were from a glorious morning heading to the hospital the day after our fifth son was born; the other from a recent visit to a lake that had a bit too much rain to process!ml_reflect1b.jpg

ml_fog_reflect1b.jpg

tree-reflect.jpg

My dream is to eventually live with my bride on a lake in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, in a house big enough to accommodate a steady stream of visitors (and, Lord willing, a large number of grandchildren – eventually!)

So, that’s a peek behind the StickyFigure curtain here in Boonton, NJ. What about you?

72 Responses to Behind the Curtain

  1. Beautiful photos, Steve,

    If I ever need a stone wall built I know who to contact!

    Thanks for participating, and for the link. I’ll add you to the list of participants on my site, linking back here.

  2. Pingback: The Face Behind The Blog Collection : David Airey :: Creative Design ::

  3. Connie Reece says:

    Steve, thanks for setting aside that New England reserve and giving us a glimpse of your handsome sons and that gorgeous home and garden. I am enjoying this meme and will have to unearth some photos so I can participate.

  4. CK says:

    That last photo belongs in a calendar–what a shot! Your family (and you) are beautiful. I love getting to know the “bloggers behind the blogs”. Blogs aren’t about technology, there about enabling people using these tools to connect people…amazing what a few photos do to make these technologies human ;-).

    I feel like I know you better already. And my respect for you has grown 100-fold knowing you raise so many sons. That’s the most important job in the world (although it’s not a job but a labor of love).

  5. Always happy to see a group of good looking Woodruff men!

  6. Steve, what great photos! No wonder your topography looks so familiar! You are just a few miles down the road from me. Thanks for sharing this view behind the curtain of your beautiful family.

  7. Pingback: iFFECT.NET » Blog Archive » The Face Behind THIS Blog

  8. Pingback: The Face Behind The Blog update : David Airey :: Creative Design ::

  9. Steve, it is so nice to see your family and learn a little bit more about you. What a great life you have out there on the other coast! Now, where are the pictures of the Lovely and Talented Queen? ;-)

  10. impactiviti says:

    OK, Becky, I’ve just added a shot of Sandy for those who want to get a glimpse of how TRULY blessed I am!

  11. Pingback: See, I’m Not Just a Drawing

  12. Pingback: The Man Behind the Curtain « Steve’s Leaves

  13. Karen Putz says:

    Great photos! My husband grew up in a family of five boys and tells me there was never a dull moment in his house. I imagine it’s the same at yours. :)

  14. Pingback: Getting to Know You — Lisa Sabin-Wilson

  15. Jim says:

    Great pics. I almost still recognize your boys (it really has been too long). House looks great. Haven’t seen it since the year you moved in (did I mention it’s been too long ;)

    I’m just about to build some substantial walls myself (OK…I’m just about to pay for them myself, but someone else will have to build them). Any advice?

  16. Pingback: Thomas - Technical Blogger The Face Behind The Blog Collection «

  17. Pingback:   Face Behind Blog Update by rammel firdaus

  18. Pingback: My Life In Five Chapters

  19. Pingback: Behind The Words » Going The Wong Way

  20. Pingback: This Eclectic Life » The Face Behind The Hands

  21. Pingback: Face Behind the Blog - this life o' riley | Riley Central

  22. Pingback:   The Face Behind The Blog by rammel firdaus

  23. Pingback: “The Face Behind The Blog” Meme » Sha Money Maker dot com

  24. Pingback: “The Face Behind The Blog” Meme : Dirty little secret, ways to make money online

  25. Pingback: The Face Behind The Blog Meme : Dirty little secret, ways to make money online

  26. Pingback: Face Behind the Blog - Meme | Blogging on Tech, Web 2.0 and Money Making Tips

  27. Pingback: The face behind the blog : Roberta Ferguson

  28. Pingback: The Face Behind the Blog | Blog That Outside

  29. Pingback: The Face Behind The Blog. My Story at Bob Meets World

  30. Pingback: Roberta Ferguson touched me! | Foximus Internet Business Blog

  31. Pingback: Artist by Nature Blog : Original Oil Paintings & Art by Leanne Wildermuth » The Face Behind The Blog

  32. Pingback: I’ve Been Tagged and Bagged » Affiliate Program

  33. Pingback: Life Is Risky » Blog Archive » Face Behind The Blog

  34. Pingback: Double Tagged

  35. Pingback: The face behind the blog. : Faddy | Girl Next Door

  36. Pingback: Finally, My Meme Tag Post

  37. Pingback: The Face Behind BlissLogs | BlissLogs

  38. Pingback: Face Behind De'moments

  39. Pingback: IN NEDERLAND » Blog Archive » The Nose behind this blog

  40. Pingback: EmbraceEachSecond.com » Blog Archive » The “Face Behind The Blog”

  41. Pingback: Tag: The person behind the blog | Leah's Cafe

  42. Pingback: mylifestartsatfortytwo.com » Face Behind The Blog...

  43. Pingback: .::hip & cool...i'll always be::. : hipncoolmomma.com

  44. Pingback: The Face Behind the Blog · 1Day@ATime…

  45. Pingback: The Face Behind the Blog · 1Day@ATime…

  46. Pingback: I Set No Corner » Blog Archive » The iRonnie Behind The Blog

  47. Pingback: The face behind the blog: Facibus Reviews at Facibus On Blogging

  48. Pingback: Andrew’s Autoblog Experiment » Blog Archive » The face behind the blog: Facibus Reviews

  49. Pingback: IN NEDERLAND » Blog Archive » The face behind the Blog (correction)

  50. Pingback: Irrelevant cheetah » Blog Archive » The man behind the curtain

  51. Pingback: troy worman » The Face Behind The Blog Collection

  52. Pingback: moderately-confused pinay in deutschland - the face behind the blog

  53. Pingback: Wanderlust Sha » the wanderlust behind this blog

  54. Pingback: Hello, is it me you’re looking for? « K, speaking!

  55. Pingback: The Tammy Behind the Blog | Tammy Lenski

  56. Pingback: All is One, One is All… » Blog Archive » Face Off

  57. Pingback: 2.0 Silent Whisper » Blog Archive » A seriously vomit-ty post.

  58. Pingback: 2.0 Silent Whisper » Blog Archive » A seriously vomit-ty post.

  59. Pingback: babyrambutan » The Face behind the blog

  60. Pingback: Dagboek (dutch) means Diary....My writings during stolen moments » Blog Archive » The Nose behind the blog

  61. Pingback: Ugly Mailbox.com

  62. Pingback: This is me!

  63. Dani says:

    Hi! Just posted Face behind the blog as to follow your meme, do visit my blog to know more about me, thanks

    Lonely hurts

  64. Pingback: The Face behind the Crown! The Crown that won't fit the face!

  65. Pingback: K.noizki » Hello, is it me you’re looking for?

  66. Pingback: Sarcasm Aside » Archivio Blog » golB eht dniheB ecaF

  67. Pingback: The Face Behind the Blog « Troy Worman Online

  68. Pingback: OrbitNow! » The Face Behind the Blog

  69. Pingback: The iRonnie Behind The Blog -- I Set No Corner

  70. Pingback: The man behind the curtain

  71. Pingback: meme

  72. Pingback: The Tammy Behind the Blog | Conflict Zen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

