My Most Popular Post – I Can’t Believe it!

Like most bloggers, I like to peek “under the hood” and see which posts generate the most traffic. And, since search engines drive so much surfing these days, it’s particularly enlightening to see which terms are used frequently that draw people to my site.

Some of the searches are truly bizarre. Why my site comes up in response to certain word combinations (some of which I won’t reproduce here!) is sometimes a mystery!

But what query brings the most visitors? Dr. Pepper’s 23 flavors.

I did a post on this marketing campaign some months back, which I consider a brilliant move by the Dr. Pepper folks. In that post, I mentioned how this “23 flavors” theme creates a sense of mystery – so just what are these wonderful flavors?

And, sure enough, tons of people are searching the Internet trying to find out! They come to my site because I did a post – not because I can reveal the “23” secret! – but I suspect folks are rummaging around the web trying to find the answer to this puzzle. It’s a great marketing concept.

I don’t think it would work so well for bottled water, however…

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

One Response to My Most Popular Post – I Can’t Believe it!

  1. Martin Coles says:

    I think it is still working…maybe this post will replace it as most popular now though? ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

