“I’d like some Moskowitz, please!”

For years, I heard the ads on the NYC radio airwaves. “We don’t arrange loans, we make loans! We write the checks.” It was the M.L. Moskowitz company, pitching their services.

Suddenly, a few years back, I began to hear the same pitches but under a new name. Equity Now. Somebody at this company “gets it.”

If I’m in the market for a home equity loan, I’m not looking for a Moskowitz. I’m looking for a loan against my equity. Now. Many companies make the mistake of branding their organization with the name(s) of the founder(s). Big mistake. It’s not about you. It’s about me, the customer.

They took the company name, and, by re-branding, aimed it properly – at the felt need of the audience. With a more-than-implied promise – NOW.

Since I’m compulsive about these things, I listened carefully to make sure that I had, indeed, witnessed a smart branding move. Sure enough, at the end of the radio blurb – “Equity Now is an M.L. Moskowitz company.”

Have I ever called them? No. Am I likely to? Not that I can anticipate. But did they get my attention with that little branding twist? Sure enough. And now they have yours also.

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

2 Responses to “I’d like some Moskowitz, please!”

  1. S4200 says:

    Some of the M L Moskowitz profits find their way to the right wing projects in Israel, too.

    Not a good guy even after the rebranding.

    It would be another story if he supported decent projects in Israel, including good Palestinian causes.

  2. Nancy says:

    Please help I am looking for a catchy name for my new business we are a landscape supply company that carries magnificant natural stone boulders, crushed rock, water features, flagstone, amended mixes, infield mix, playground chips and more. Our philosophy is plant rocks save water. Any feed back would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

