Giving Citi some credit

It’s easy to pick on the foibles of various companies when they do something wrong. But it’s always nice to point out when a company does something right.

I recently got a Citibank credit card. I had a minor issue to clear up, so I called the toll-free number shown on the card. From there, FOUR things went right:

1. Almost immediately on the automated phone system, the option was given to reach a human being. Having just yesterday been through touch-tone purgatory with my ISP, this was a refreshing change.

2. A person picked up right away. On a Saturday morning. Nice.

3. As I explained the situation, she instantly understood the issue and said she’d take care of it. No fuss, no muss. Nice job, Yvonne.

4. Then, when I mentioned one slight anomaly on the website when I logged in, she said she’d have the web person take care of it right away.

How to build customer appreciation and loyalty? Here’s a good 4-part starting point!

About Steve Woodruff
Steve Woodruff is a blogger, a Connection Agent, and a consultant in the pharma/healthcare industry. He specializes in helping people and companies make mutually beneficial connections.

One Response to Giving Citi some credit

  1. Sara says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I’ve been a Citibank customer since I was 15 and a co-signer on my parents’ card. In twelve years they have consistently exceeded my expectations. (Part of that is the low bar set by places like your ISP!)

    I actually spoke to Citibank today and, while I think the woman may have been in a call center in India, she could not have been more friendly, helpful or empowered. In other words, she didn’t have to transfer me to anyone, or even have me hold for long. She could make those changes, no problem. She could send that letter, no problem.

    To me, Citibank is a pinnacle of customer service. Welcome to the club!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

